

From opera to pop musicians, painters to politicians, New Yorkers from all ends of the city joined **The Martha Graham Center of Contemporary Dance** at Central Park's Boathouse for an October luncheon to raise scholarship funds for the Martha Graham School. Guests celebrated eight honorees—women who continue Martha Graham's legacy of excellence across eight disciplines: art, opera, pop music, theatre, art, performance, politics, law, and social services. Honorees were legendary soprano **Martina Arroyo**; four-time Tony Award winner **Zoe Caldwell**; SVP—YMCA of Greater New York and New York Planning Commission

member, Maria Del Toro; chashama founder and artistic director, Anita Durst; City Council member for the Bronx, Helen Diane Foster; foremost American painter April Gornik; managing associate of Orrick Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP Amy Pasacreta, Esq.; and Grammy Award winner Suzanne Vega. Students from the Martha Graham School performed three pieces choreographed by Martha Graham (*El Penitente*—excerpt; Satyric Festival Song; "The Bride" from *Appalachian Spring*). Guests included Jean Baruch, Natan Bibliowicz, Katherine Borowitz, Sandra Crawshaw-Sparks, Diane Fisher, Eric Fischl, Laura Gordon, Grace Haggerty, Stephanie Kikis, Sahra Lese, Michel Maurel, Joyce Menschel, Hilda Frost Neis, Lorraine Oler, Irina Pabst, Joyce Purnik, Neila Radtke, Herbert and Judy Schlosser (Trustee chair), Elena Stephanopoulos, Victor Syrmis, Lee Traub, and Melinda vanden Heuvel. Trustee President Inger Witter chaired the luncheon committee. Photos: Costas Cacaroukas & Rose Billings



4-time Tony winner Zoe Caldwell sports her honoree star donated by Tiffany staff.

Masterpiece artists—honoree April Gornik with Eric Fischl.

Legendary soprano and honoree Martina Arroyo with husband Michel Maurel



Anita Durst, honoree and founder of the cutting-edge chashama artist space.

Inger Witter, Trustee President & Luncheon Chair, with guest Irina Pabst.

Suzanne Vega, honoree & Grammy award winner.



Honoree Maria Del Toro, SVP, YMCA of Greater NY and member, NYC Planning Commission



Martha Graham Center's Board Chair, Judy Schlosser with Artistic Director, Janet Eilber



Elena Stephanopoulos



Howard Schlosser



Martha Graham Center's Executive Director LaRue Allen with architects Natan Bibliowicz and Carolyn Iu.



Jean Baruch



Honoree Amy Pasacreta, Esq., Managing Associate of Orrick Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP



Cheree L. Gulley, Esq. (I) with Honorable Helen Diane Foster, NYC Council Member representing the 16th District in the Bronx.

Amélie Bénard (I) receives graduation certificate from Martha Graham School Director, Virginie Mécène

Photos: Costas Cacarouksa & Rose Billings



Martha Graham Center's Board Chair, Judy Schlosser with Joyce Purniick

Trustee Neila Radtke with Beth Thill



Photos: Costas Cacaroukas & Rose Billings